Wakefield College - Open Letter to Students and Parents

Open Letter to Students and Parents

Thursday 26th March 2020

Dear Student/Parents/Carers

We hope yourself and your families are well and we would like to thank you for your continued support in these unprecedented times.

I am sure you are all aware that new rules came into force which mean that everyone must stay at home as far as possible to minimise the spread of Covid-19 and protect the NHS.

As a College, we are keen to support this national lockdown and have made the decision to temporarily close all College buildings for the next three weeks as any students identified within Government guidance are being supported at home and remotely by our staff. Please be assured that we are monitoring the situation closely and should the situation change, we will be in touch. The health and wellbeing of our staff and our students remains our priority at this difficult time.

Student Support Services
Services continue to operate remotely, and students should access Moodle for contacts and service information generally. However, our support staff are in contact with many of our students individually and further useful contact information is listed below.

Financial Support
Students who are in receipt of Free College Meals continue to receive this support directly through their bank accounts and student bursary payments will continue as normal at this time.

Learning
Teachers will contact students to advise them of the arrangements they have put in place to enable them to continue learning. Where students don't have access to a laptop, PC or tablet, they can access Moodle and their College emails on their phone and discuss with their teachers the best way to continue learning. This should include re-visiting and revising their notes from their courses or receiving email instructions and feedback from a teacher on their phone. We encourage students without access to laptops, PC or tablets to communicate remotely with their classmates who do have access, to discuss work that has been set for them. Today's technology means that, even with just with a phone, students may be able to participate by video calling a classmate who does have access to an online lesson.

IT Support for learning
In order to access your course resources for learning at home, please search for Wakefield Moodle. Once the site loads, you will need to sign in with your normal username and password. If you require IT support to log in please contact our helpdesk on helpdesk@wakefield.ac.uk below between 10am and 4pm or telephone them on 01924 789212.

Qualifications
General information we have received so far confirms no student will be disadvantaged by the pandemic and grades from this year will be indistinguishable from other years. We are waiting for more information in relation to this from Ofqual.

Progression
Our current students who are expecting to continue their learning with us on a further course in September 2020 will not be disadvantaged by the current situation and we will be in contact with you in due course. The College has a large offer of courses to support your next steps and your career goals and should you wish to gain some further advice on your next steps you can access our careers team on careers@wakefield.ac.uk.

Higher Education
The Office for Students has confirmed that Universities and Higher Education institutions are now taking a two-week break from making any offers to prospective students. This avoids students who have applied for HE feeling pressured to accept offers. Further information can be found here.

Specific Useful Contact Emails

Support Services

NameTitleEmail Address
Carol Price Student Wellbeing and Safeguarding Manager C.Price2@wakefield.ac.uk
Hayley Shillito Head of Student Experience and Engagement h.shillito@wakefield.ac.uk
Jannine Godfrey Student Experience Manager - Castleford J.Godfrey@wakefield.ac.uk
Leigh Allsopp Head of Student Experience and Support L.Allsopp@wakefield.ac.uk

Curriculum Areas

NameTitleEmail Address
Corinne Barker Director of Curriculum C.Barker@wakefield.ac.uk
Adele Wright Head of Hospitality, Hair & Beauty and Animal Care A.Wright2@wakefield.ac.uk
Amy O’Keefe Head of Sport and Public Services A.Okeefe@wakefield.ac.uk
Graham Sherwin Head of Engineering and Automotive G.Sherwin@wakefield.ac.uk
Helen Corcoran Head of English and Maths H.Corcoran2@wakefield.ac.uk
James Pennington Head of Alternative Curriculum and Schools Partnerships J.Pennington@wakefield.ac.uk
Jodene Horrocks Head of Care and Early Years J.Horrocks2@wakefield.ac.uk
Marie Dalton Head of Arts M.Dalton@wakefield.ac.uk
Matt Goodlad Head of Business, Travel & Tourism and Computing M.Goodlad@wakefield.ac.uk
Richard Collings Head of A Levels R.Collings@wakefield.ac.uk
Suzanne Black Head of Construction S.Black@wakefield.ac.uk

Higher Education

NameTitleEmail Address
Clare Hagerup Director of Higher Education C.Hagerup@wakefield.ac.uk
Tony Rex Director of HE Development T.Rex@wakefield.ac.uk

Apprenticeships

NameTitleEmail Address
Emma Turner Head of Apprenticeships E.Turner@wakefield.ac.uk

Support Areas

Please note: the mailboxes will be monitored during business hours and staff will respond to you as soon as they possibly can. To help us, we ask when emailing, please include your student ID number and, where possible, email from official student email accounts. We appreciate your support at this time.

Sam Wright,
Principal and CEO